Ph.D. and Master Programs in Electronics and Computer Science at University of Southampton


Speaker:   Prof. Shiyan Hu

Time:       15:30-16:30, Sep. 17

Location:  SIST 1C 101

Host:       Prof. Pingqiang Zhou



The University of Southampton is one of the best universities in the world, recognized internationally for its research, education and collaborative industry support. It is ranked first in the UK to study Electrical and Electronic Engineering according to the Guardian University Guide 2021. In this talk, I will introduce our School of Electronics and Computer Science (ECS), esp. the Ph.D. and master programs offered by us. Our master programs provide intensive and challenging courses, which will prepare you fully for roles in industry as well as research and development. Our Ph.D. research is carried out in national research centers with experts having unrivalled depth and breadth of expertise. Our leading research base, coupled with excellent facilities and close partnerships with major industries, ensures that your study with us will be challenging, productive, and rewarding. Please join us to explore the opportunities at Southampton!



Prof. Shiyan Hu received his Ph.D. in Computer Engineering from Texas A&M University in 2008. He is the Chair in Cyber-Physical System Security at University of Southampton. His research interests include Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) and CPS Security, where he has published more than 100 refereed papers, including 60+ in IEEE Transactions. Prof. Hu is an ACM Distinguished Speaker, an IEEE Systems Council Distinguished Lecturer, a recipient of U.S. National Science Foundation CAREER Award, and a recipient of IEEE Computer Society TCSC Middle Career Researcher Award. His publications have received a few distinctions such as the 2018 IEEE Systems Journal Best Paper Award, the 2017 Keynote Paper in IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design, the Front Cover Paper in IEEE Transactions on Nano-bioscience in March 2014, multiple Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Papers, etc. He is the Chair for IEEE Technical Committee on Cyber-Physical Systems and the Editor-In-Chief of IET Cyber-Physical Systems: Theory & Applications. He has served as the 2020 Editor-in-Chief Search Committee Chair for ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems. He is an Associate Editor for IEEE TCAD, IEEE TII, IEEE TCAS, ACM TODAES, and ACM TCPS, and a Guest Editor for 8 IEEE/ACM journals including Proceedings of the IEEE (PIEEE) and IEEE Transactions on Computers. He has held chair positions in various IEEE conferences. He is a Fellow of IET and a Fellow of British Computer Society. More information is at

SIST-Seminar 18242